skip mobile navigation

Lifetime Volunteer Leadership

Walter L. Rugland Community Service Award

This award recognizes an individual who has, over many years, positively impacted the quality of life in the Fox Cities through his or her leadership. An award of $5,000 will be presented to the recipient’s Fox Valley charity.

Sponsor: Volunteer Fox Cities in partnership with Thrivent

Who Qualifies?

An individual who meets the above criteria and who has positively impacted the quality of life in the Fox Cities through his or her long-standing leadership. Candidates must reside or do the majority of their volunteer work in Outagamie, Calumet, Waupaca or northern Winnebago counties.

Nomination form


  • A volunteer who has, through his or her leadership and influence, worked with a broad array of nonprofit agencies and/or community resources to impact the quality of life in the Fox Cities.
  • A volunteer who has had a long-standing commitment to diverse organizations in our community.
  • A volunteer who demonstrates continued leadership and commitment to improving the Fox Cities.

Mary Beth Nienhaus, Habitat for Humanity

Past recipients

2020 Winner Mary Beth Nienhaus

“My first experience, Catholic Build, was in 2014 with Habitat for Humanity. Since that time, my involvement has been serving on several committees and participating in the builds. A great organization that brings people together to build homes, communities, and hope. Their vision is a world where everyone has a decent place to live.” – Mary Beth Nienhaus, Habitat for Humanity

2019: Sharon Hulce
2018: Nancy Heykes
2017: Jane Dwyre Garton
2016: Tom Prosser
2015: Roger Bertschausen
2014: Tom & Renee Boldt
2013: Jon Stellmacher
2012: Cathie Tierney
2011: David Vander Zanden
2010: Walter S. Rugland
2009: Kathi Seifert
2008: Fr. Robert Udulutsch
2007: Bill Schmidt
2006: Paul Hoffman
2005: John J. & Ethel D. Keller
2004: William A. Selle
2003: John F. Bergstrom
2002: Dr. Charles “Chick” Fenlon
2001: Frank & Marilyn Wiesner
2000: Joyce A. Bytof
1999: Dr. John & Sally Mielke
1998: James HayesHonorees prior to Celebrating Our Volunteers Gala:
1997: Fr. Orville Jansen
1996: John Bubolz
1995: Doug and Myrt Ogilvie
1994: Dorothy Johnson
1993: Vic Minahan
1992: John Reeve
1991: Paul Groth
1990: Gus Zuehlke
1989: Frank Shattuck
1988: O.C. and Pat Boldt
1987: William Kellett
1986: William Buchanan
1985: Walter L. Rugland