skip mobile navigation


Paul & Elaine Groth Mentoring Award

This award recognizes an individual (or individuals) who has served as a mentor in the community over time and has, by example, made meaningful contributions to the quality of the life in the Fox Cities. An award of $5,000 is presented to the recipient’s Fox Valley charity of choice.

Award sponsor since 1998:

Who Qualifies?

An individual or individuals that meet the criteria above and have a beneficial presence within Outagamie, Calumet, Waupaca or northern Winnebago counties.

Nomination form


  • Nominations are evaluated on the nominee’s involvement of helping others.
  • Nominations are evaluated based on the nominee being a respected community leader.
  • Nominations are evaluated based on mentoring in a quiet and wise way and how the nominee has been a counselor or consensus builder to make positive things happen in the community.

Past recipients

2020 Winner: Walter Zerrenner

Walter Zerrenner, Fox Valley Memory Project

“I kind of eased into the volunteer work but I would say it began in a dental office. I was reading Fox Cities magazine and there was an article about Susan and John McFadden bringing the Memory Café concept to the Fox Valley. I reached out to them to learn more and then Aline and I attended the very first Memory Café in 2014. I later became very involved with the work of the Fox Valley Memory Project. In 2014, Susan McFadden recruited me to serve on the Fox Valley Memory Board and later convinced me to serve on the Marketing and Fund Development Committee. It was the mission of the FVMP to create and maintain a Dementia Friendly Community in the Fox Valley. It was a mission that was near and dear to me as a Care Partner for my wife living with Alzheimer’s and still is today.” – Walter Zerrenner, Fox Valley Memory Project

2019: Dick Calder
2018: Bob DeKoch
2017: Sally Podoski
2016: Mary Poulson
2015: Sue Kinde
2014: Maung Win
2013: Rev. Will & Ruth Bloedow
2012: Ruth Haviland
2011: Joyce & Len Hanstedt
2010: Jeff Knezel
2009: Tri-County Community Dental Clinic dentists
2008: Fred Gaines
2007: Thomas Scullen
2006: Dr. Bill & Paula Chandler
2005: Doug & Carla Salmon
2004: Jane Williams & Alice Zeiss
2003: Margaret M. Walsh
2002: Pat Boldt
2001: John Reeve
2000: Philip Keller
1999: Charles Lingelbach Jr.
1998: Winton A. Schumaker