skip mobile navigation

Business Partnership

Business Partnership Award

Community First Credit Union operations manager Becky Davis, left, Amy Flanders, Sexual Assault Crisis Center executive director, and Cindy Pierce, Community First Credit Union regional AVP branch operations, right, represent the winners of the 2019 Celebrating Volunteers Business Partnership Award.
Dan Powers/USA TODAY NETWORK-Wisconsin

This award recognizes a business and a nonprofit organization that promote volunteerism and collaboration between the organizations for the benefit of both. An award of $5,000 is presented to the recipients’ joint Fox Valley charity.

Award sponsor since 1998:

Who Qualifies?

A business and a nonprofit that partner to meet the criteria above. The organizations must have a presence and the benefit must be felt within Outagamie, Calumet, Waupaca or northern Winnebago counties.

Nomination form


  • Nominations are evaluated based on the humanitarian value of the benefit, how many people are impacted, the degree of need in the community, how pure the effort is from commercial intentions, and the longevity of the partnership.
  • Employees of a business and a nonprofit volunteer outside of their normal job duties and collaborate to benefit both organizations.
  • Award can be earned for a single act of volunteerism or a number of volunteer efforts.
  • Nominations that have not been awarded the Business Partnership in the past take priority over past recipients.

Our 2019 winners are Community First Credit Union Programs & Sexual Assault Crisis Center!

Watch the Award Video, filmed and produced by video production students at University of Wisconsin – Fox Valley and Instructor Tom Frantz:

Celebrating Volunteers: Business award puts spotlight on “Dance” partners
By Maureen Wallenfang, Appleton Post-Crescent

Cindy Pierce is regional assistant vice president of branch operations at CFCU, and has been with the credit union for 19 years. She has a bachelor of science degree in business from UW-Stout. Becky Davis is quality review manager at CFCU. She has been with the credit union for 16 years. Her bachelor’s degree in business management is from UW-Whitewater. CFCU is a 44-year-old credit union based in Fox Crossing that provides financial services for more than 137,000 members in 13 counties in northeastern and central Wisconsin.

Amy Flanders is executive director of the Sexual Assault Crisis Center. She has been in the role for two years. The Menasha native has multiple degrees including an MBA from UW-Whitewater.

Shall We Dance, the center’s only annual event, has raised more than $2 million over its 11-year history. Funds are used to provide therapy for survivors of sexual violence, sponsor more than 1,500 violence prevention education programs in schools, promote education campaigns on child sexual abuse recognition and prevention, understand and address human sex trafficking and increase outreach capabilities.

Read more here, via the Post-Crescent

Past recipients:

2019: Community First Credit Union Programs & Sexual Assault Crisis Center
2018: Harbor House Domestic Abuse Programs and McMAHON.
2017: United Way Fox Cities and Kimberly-Clark Corp.
2016: Make-A-Wish Wisconsin and Bergstrom Automotive
2015: St. Joseph Food Program/Aerotek
2014: Feeding America/Associated Bank
2013: Theda Care, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin/Roosevelt Elementary School, Neenah
2012: West Business Services/Harbor House Domestic Abuse Programs
2011: Thrivent Financial for Lutherans/ Salvation Army-Fox Cities
2010: Big Brothers Big Sisters/Fox Communities Credit Union
2009: Boldt Corp./YMCA
2008: Outlook Group/American Red Cross-Neenah-Menasha
2007: Plumbers & Steamfitters Local 400/Volunteer Center
2006: Affinity, ThedaCare/Fox Cities Community Health Center
2005: Kimberly-Clark Corp./Volunteer Center of East Central WI
2004: ThedaCare/Fox Cities Kurgan Sister Cities
2003: Community First Credit Union/ Appleton Area School District
2002: The Post-Crescent/Goodwill Industries
2001: Coldwell Banker-The Real Estate Group
2000: Aid Association for Lutherans
1999: Akrosil (International Paper)
1998: Community First Credit Union