skip mobile navigation

Celebrating Volunteers

Honoring Those Who Give from the Heart

A community celebration of volunteering

In order to keep the community safe and healthy during this coronavirus pandemic, the Community Foundation for the Fox Valley Region and NBC26 have canceled the Celebrating Volunteer 2020 event April 21. We are evaluating how to honor our award recipients. Thank you for your gracious support of the community’s generous volunteers. Please visit our Community Foundation and COVID-19 Response page for additional updates.


2020 Award Recipients:

Chad Kazel
Janet Berry Volunteer of the Year Award
Sponsor: Amcor

Walter Zerrenner
Paul & Elaine Groth Mentoring Award
Sponsor: Mielke Family Foundation

Betsy Rachubinski
Health Care Volunteer Award
Sponsor: Ascension St. Elizabeth’s Hospital and ThedaCare

Mary Beth Nienhaus
Walter L. Rugland Community Service Award
Sponsor: Thrivent

Capital Credit Union & Pillars
Business Partnership of the Year Award
Sponsor: SECURA

Justice Moore
Youth Scholarship Award
Sponsor: Community First Credit Union

Thanks to the generosity of award sponsors, each award recipient receives $5,000 for their favorite Fox Valley charity (youth recipient receives $1,000 for charity plus a $1,500 scholarship). Since 1998, award sponsors have given $723,000 to local charities selected by their award recipients!

Kayla Schuh

2019 Health Care Volunteer Award

Sponsored By Ascension and ThedaCare

Dick Calder

2019 Paul and Elaine Groth Mentoring Award

Sponsored By Mielke Family Foundation

Sharon Hulce

2019 Walter L. Rugland Community Service Award

Sponsored By Thrivent Financial

2019 Recipients

Hover over a recipient to learn more

Karla Huston

2019 Hanns Kretzschmar Award for Excellence in Arts

Sponsored By Thrivent

Sydney Olmsted

2019 Youth Scholarship Award

Sponsored By Community First Credit Union

Community First Credit Union & Sexual Assault Crisis Center

2019 Business Partnership Award

Sponsored By SECURA

Cindy Reffke

2019 Janet Berry Volunteer of the Year

Sponsored By Post-Crescent