skip mobile navigation
ANNOUNCEMENTS: Summer Office Hours in Effect
Aa Aa Aa

The Loop

Stay in The Loop. Find out what's
happening in the Fox Valley Region
through the Community Foundation.

Sally Mielke receives 2020 Thomas G. Scullen Leadership Award

By Julie Krause, Executive Director, Appleton Education Foundation 

The Appleton Education Foundation’s choice for its 2020 leadership honors is someone dedicated to improving education in our community – from the very youngest learners to students attending Fox Valley Technical College or Lawrence University.

Sally Mielke

In nominating Sally Mielke for the annual Thomas G. Scullen Leadership Award, retired Thrivent Financial executive Jon Stellmacher said, “As a thought leader and hands-on doer, her impact on education has already been significant and will be felt in the Fox Valley for many years to come.”

Sally has worked for decades to improve education for students of all ages. She served as an instructor and trustee for Fox Valley Technical College, championed programs (including United for Reading Success) for Appleton Area School District, co-founded the Community Early Learning Center, and influenced the creation of an elementary educator licensure program at Lawrence University in partnership with the AASD.

She was chosen for the 13th annual award in fall and has since suffered the loss of her partner in this work and in life, Dr. John Mielke.

Sally said the honor is especially meaningful to her because she knew and worked with Dr. Scullen. “His idea of education was so very, very broad and exposed us to so many things.”

The Foundation is pleased to recognize and celebrate Sally’s work. Her history of commitment to improving education, her ability to collaborate with others, and her advocacy for education as a measure of overall quality of life make her a perfect fit for the award.

Thomas G. Scullen Leadership Award winners may direct a $1,000 gift to the nonprofit of their choice. Sally has chosen to split her award between the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center and the John Mielke and Sally Morey Mielke Education Fund within the AEF.

Watch our video announcement:

Past award recipients:

2019    Chris N. Linn
2018   Judy Olson
2017    Marcia Engen
2016   Jon Stellmacher
2015   Gary A. Jahnke
2014   Mary Beth Nienhaus
2013   Lou Hull
2012   Susan May, Ph.D.
2011   Ellen Kort (deceased)
2010   James W. Perry, Ph.D.
2009   John E. Mielke, M.D. (deceased)
2008   Donald W. Brown (deceased)

The Appleton Education Foundation, a supporting organization of the Community Foundation for the Fox Valley Region, has been working since 1997 to develop a steady source of support for grants now, and for many future generations of Appleton children.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.