skip mobile navigation
Aa Aa Aa

The Loop

Stay in The Loop. Find out what's
happening in the Fox Valley Region
through the Community Foundation.

Neenah student volunteers and recruits others

Rachel Miserlian has a dizzying number of volunteer involvements, but she doesn’t stop there. She also is a dedicated recruiter of volunteers at Neenah High School, encouraging her classmates to join volunteer groups that address social needs, or creating new organizations where none exist.

That double dose of volunteer drive earned her the 2018 Youth Scholarship Volunteer of the Year Award, sponsored by Community First Credit Union. It is one of seven volunteer awards being presented at the annual Celebrating Volunteers community gala, April 26 at the Radisson Paper Valley Hotel in downtown Appleton. The event is sponsored by the Community Foundation and The Post-Crescent.

She will receive a $1,500 scholarship and $1,000 to give favorite charities.

At least two of her favorite causes involve organizations she created. Full Stop collects feminine products to give free to women who are low-income or are experiencing homelessness. She has recruited speakers and arranged to have rest rooms in key locations stocked with the products. She also started a tutoring service at Lakeview Elementary School in Neenah.

“Rachel is a go-getter who doesn’t just sit back and accept things the way they are,” English teacher Robert Funk, one of her nominators, said. “She recognizes a potential social problem and either joins an existing effort to help solve the problem or, more importantly, she works relentlessly to create her own solutions.”

The Neenah Animal Shelter, Neenah Library, Neenah Board of Education, Fox Cities Dance Marathon, Children’s Hospital, Best Friends of Neenah-Menasha and an environmental school in the Dominican Republic all have benefitted from Rachel’s volunteer zeal.

“Her compassionate dedication to our school and to our community is exceptional,” Funk said.

She is described as dedicated, hard-working and driven.

Register for Celebrating Volunteers by April 19.

Honoree Stories:

Hanns Kretzschmar Award for Excellence in the Arts – Renee Ulman

Paul & Elaine Groth Mentoring Award — Bob DeKoch

Youth Scholarship Award — Rachel Miserlian

Janet Berry Volunteer of the Year Award — Cheri Duchrow

Walter L. Rugland Community Service Award — Nancy Heykes

Health Care Volunteer Award — Jim and Sue Spierings

Business Partnership Award — Harbor House Domestic Abuse Programs and McMAHON

Sign up to get in The Loop.

Invite a friend to get in The Loop.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.